All posts by Mario Herger

Gotcha! I’m still alive!

What is typically only the reading of judges, police and prosecutors became an unexpected bestseller in 2006. First in Italy and then worldwide, Roberto Saviano’s first book Gomorrha stormed the bestseller lists. In it, the Neapolitan described the workings of the Camorra mafia organization in his hometown from his own experience and with a great deal of research, naming the leaders and perpetrators by their full names.

Because of this attention, he became a target of the mafia and has lived under constant police protection ever since. And it is precisely this, his own threatened and isolated life, that is depicted in the comic strip “Je suis toujours vivant” (“I am still alive”), impressively staged by cartoonist Asaf Hanuka.

Continue reading Gotcha! I’m still alive!

Shoot Ramirez Already!

The mute vacuum cleaner mechanic Jacques Ramirez wants nothing more than to do his job in peace. And he does it very well. For this, he is named employee of the year after years at his company Robotop, shortly before the building blows up along with his boss and the journalists gathered there.

Ramirez has been caught up in his dark family history, which he never wanted to have anything to do with and had taken a completely different path. But a Mexican drug cartel, a cold-blooded killer and the two Thelma & Louise characters Chelsea Tyler and Dakota Smith cross his path and leave a bloody trail. But Jacques Ramirez’s past is not quite so blameless either, and the story complicates.

Continue reading Shoot Ramirez Already!

A Magazine for the Delicate Male Mind

If you appreciate The New Yorker or The Chicagoan as magazine lovers of the jazz age for their excellent reporting and artistic covers, you will enjoy the two-volume Gentlemind comic album series.

The story is set in the 1940s, where showgirl Gina Navit serves as muse and love interest to aspiring illustrator Arch Parker. Plagued by money troubles, Arch decides to go to Europe to cover the war. Gina, who can’t save herself from admirers, breaks heart and marries wealthy entertainment magnate Powell. When he dies, Gina inherits his estate, including a moribund men’s magazine, which she turns into a success by successfully altering its reports and graphics.

Continue reading A Magazine for the Delicate Male Mind

Dry Cleaning In The Rain

François, a loner, works for a laundry cleaning service as a messenger driver and leads a very unexciting and routine life. His happiest moment of the day is a visit to single mother Maryvonne, who runs a newsstand and to whom François hands in his lottery ticket and buys the newspaper.

He has been playing the same lottery numbers for 17 years, promising to buy Maryvonne and her daughter, who suffers from asthma, an apartment by the sea from his lottery winnings, which he hopes for every week. His routine changes when he has to train a new driver named Alain, who causes him some nerves. Then, when they have to make a delivery to a place outside Paris, François’ whole life tips over in one fell swoop.

Continue reading Dry Cleaning In The Rain

2021: My Year In Books

Already last year I presented a few books I read during the first pandemic year 2020, and in 2021 I could add one more. The pandemic is still here, new variants come and dominate, and that leaves time for reading.

So this year I read 87 non-fiction books, 109 (mostly French) comics, a few picture books, children’s books and lots of magazines. I also acquired about a hundred old Mickey Mouse issues on ebay, which I’m halfway through.

I have the (almost) entire list of comics and books on Librarything, where I’ve been maintaining this content for years.

Continue reading 2021: My Year In Books

The Man Who Loves Comics

How a wacky comic, our French teacher, and a chance find reawakened my comic collecting passion.

In the Floridsdorf district of Vienna, on the eastern side of the Danube, near our apartment at the time was a so-called Gemeindebau, a housing complex built and operated by the city of Vienna in the 1920s that had stores, kindergartens, doctors’ offices and a farmers’ market. Such community buildings were small villages in the city, and as a child these were our places where we gained experience and where our whole world lay.

In the arcades of this municipal building there were business premises, among others a novel exchange store. This has long since ceased to exist, but here is a photo from Google Maps of what it currently looks like.

The Schlingerhof in Vienna’s 21st district, with storefronts in the arcades that housed a novel exchange store in the late 1970s, which I had the privilege of frequenting once a week.

In one of the arcades there was a comic exchange store, and in it I, then still an elementary school student, could exchange 10 old used comic books for 10 new used comic books. For 10 shillings, which at the time was about 1.5 deutschmarks, and according to the conversion rate was equivalent to 71 cents, which adjusted for inflation would be about €1.90 today.

Continue reading The Man Who Loves Comics

I Dream of Djinn – An (Erotic) Excursion into the World of Sultans, Goddesses and Maharajas

Anyone who grew up with the television series I Dream of Jeannie is already familiar with the world of genies. In this 1960s series, astronaut Tony Nelson, played by Larry Hagman, found a bottle on a beach that hid the genie (“djinn”) Jeannie, played by Barbara Eden. Her magical powers (and jealousy) kept getting Tony Nelson into trouble.

Almost sixty years later, French scenarist Jean Dufaux and Spanish illustrator Ana Miralles created the comic series Djinn, of which 13 volumes have been published. If I Dream of Jeannie already had a definite erotic undertone in the relationship between Nelson and Jeannie, it becomes much more explicit in this comic series. And even the last names of the protagonists show a reference to the TV series.

There are two interrelated narrative threads in the albums, whose stories take place in three cycles in Turkey, Africa and India. Kim Nelson, who grew up in present-day London, sets out to discover the story of her mother and grandmother, Jade, who is said to have been a djinn. Her magic as a djinn was that she could make women and men fall hopelessly in love with her and give up everything for her, even going to their deaths. For a djinn, however, this means that she herself can never feel love, as much as she wishes to, and thus all relationships inevitably break down.

Continue reading I Dream of Djinn – An (Erotic) Excursion into the World of Sultans, Goddesses and Maharajas

Black Burlesque

Great cinema were the film noir in the 50s and 60s, which often helped actors like Alain Delon or Jean Gabin to their fame. Even today, more than half a century later, these films have lost none of their charisma. No wonder this style of film is cited again and again, not only in cinema, but also in comic books like Noir Burlesque by Enrico Marini.

The story, set in 1950s New York, is about the gangster Slick, who commits his robberies with routine and seduces women, but has also attracted plenty of ill will and the envy of other shady and powerful figures in the underworld.

In this first installment, ex-boxer, war veteran, and hardened petty criminal Slick is doing his last heist for his boss when he meets Caprice, a redheaded beauty. As readers quickly discover, there is a backstory between burlesque dancer Caprice and Slick. Years ago, he had gone off to war as a soldier, leaving Caprice behind, who no longer wanted to wait for him and succumbed to the wooings of the underworld boss Rex. The encounter is thus also the beginning of the game with fire.

Continue reading Black Burlesque

Foolhardy Stories

Holding up a mirror image to society is a recurring motif in literary history. What reached a high point in the Middle Ages with Dante’s Divine Comedy continued all the way to Honoré de Balzac, who drew a picture of the mores of high French society around 1830 with his Mad Tales.

Twin brothers Paul and Gaëtan Brizzi, born in Italy, raised in Paris, only to emigrate to Hollywood in 1994 to work for Disney Studio, Pixar and Sony, now took on three of Balzac’s stories in a very lighthearted comic album. Kept in monochrome, they lead the reader:inside in an entertaining way and a brisk drawing style through the world of the 1830s and skillfully take in their drawings the society, the church and morality on the shovel.

Continue reading Foolhardy Stories

Alle Beiträge von Mario Herger

Ätsch, ich lebe noch!

Was typischerweise nur die Lektüre von Richtern, Polizei und Staatsanwälten ist, wurde 2006 zum unerwarteten Bestseller. Zuerst in Italien und dann weltweit stürmte das Erstlingswerk Gomorrha von Roberto Saviano die Bestsellerlisten. Darin schilderte der Neapolitaner aus eigener Erfahrung und mit viel Recherche das Wirken der Mafiaorganisation Camorra in seiner Heimatstadt und nannte die Anführer und Täter bei vollem Namen.

Wegen dieser Aufmerksamkeit wurde er zum Ziel der Mafia und lebt seither unter ständigem Polizeischutz. Und übers dieses, sein eigenes bedrohtes und isoliertes Leben schildert der Comic „Je suis toujours vivant“ („Ich bin immer noch am Leben“), vom Zeichner Asaf Hanuka eindrucksvoll in Szene gesetzt.

Ätsch, ich lebe noch! weiterlesen

#19 Ewa Kasp – „Oida, man darf sich nix scheiß’n“

Ewa Kasp ist Schauspielerin, die in Paris, New York, Toronto gelebt hat und jetzt wieder in Wien wohnt.

Vor 5 Jahren behandelte sie ihr Heimweh nach Wien, indem sie ein Video aufnahm, das mit mehreren Millionen Zugriffen viral gehen sollte. Die Erklärung des Begriffs Oida katapultierte sie in die Herzen der Österreicher.

Woher sie eigentlich stammt, wie sie in die Schauspielerei kam, was ihre nächsten Pläne sind, dass sie eigentlich besser kocht als ihre Videos vermuten lassen, und was sie jungen Schauspielinteressierten empfiehlt, das besprechen wir in diesem Podcast.

#19 Ewa Kasp – „Oida, man darf sich nix scheiß’n“ weiterlesen

Knallt Ramirez doch endlich ab!

Der stumme Staubsaugermechaniker Jacques Ramirez will nichts anderes, als in Ruhe seinen Job zu machen. Und den macht er sehr gut. Dafür wird er nach Jahren in seiner Firma Robotop zum Mitarbeiter des Jahres ernannt, kurz bevor das Gebäude samt seinem Chef und den dort versammelten Journalisten in die Luft fliegt.

Ramirez wurde von seiner dunklen Familiengeschichte eingeholt, mit der er nie etwas zu tun haben wollte und einen ganz andere Weg beschritten hatte. Doch ein mexikanisches Drogenkartell, ein kaltblütiger Killer und die beiden Thelma & Louise-Charaktere Chelsea Tyler und Dakota Smith kreuzen seinen Weg und hinterlassen eine blutige Spur. Doch ganz so unbescholten ist auch Jacques Ramirez Vergangenheit nicht und die Geschichte verkompliziert sich.

Knallt Ramirez doch endlich ab! weiterlesen

#18 Martin Rauchbauer – Kunst, Kultur und Konsul

Martin Rauchbauer ist ehemaliger Journalist und Diplomat. Er lebt und arbeitet in San Francisco.

In diesem Gespräch mit Martin gehen wir auf die besondere Bedeutung des Silicon Valley und der Notwendigkeit eines österreichischen Konsulat ein. Martin hat dieses gegründet und schildert von den Anfängen, den Zielen, und den Österreichern die hier vor Ort leben und wie sich deren Mindset unterscheidet. Martin stammt aus Eisenstadt im Burgenland, und fing nach Schule und Studium als Journalist für den ORF und das Magazin Format an, bevor er dann im Außenministerium seine Karriere als Diplomat begann. Er erzählt uns auch über die Bedeutung von Österreich als Land der Kunst und Kultur im Ausland, und was er da im Silicon Valley so vorfand.

#18 Martin Rauchbauer – Kunst, Kultur und Konsul weiterlesen

Ein Mörderischer Herbst an der Somme

Ein Industrieller wird an seinem eigenen Blut erstickt auf einer gestrandeten Yacht gefunden, und die Polizei tappt im Dunkel. Denn eigentlich war Alexandre de Breucq bei allen beliebt.

Inspektor Broyan, von der Pariser Polizei macht sich auf die Suche nach dem Mörder und stößt dabei auf immer tiefere Abgründe des getöteten und wird dabei mit seiner eigenen Familiengeschichte konfrontiert.

Ein Mörderischer Herbst an der Somme weiterlesen

Ein Magazin fürs zarte Männergemüt

Wer The New Yorker oder The Chicagoan als Magazinliebhaber des jazz-Zeitalters wegen ihrer exzellenten Berichte und der künstlerischen Titelblätter schätzt, wird an der zweibändigen Comicalbumserie Gentlemind viel Freude haben.

Die Geschichte spielt in den 1940er Jahren, wo das Showgirl Gina Navit dem aufstrebenden Illustrator Arch Parker als Muse und Liebe dient. Von Geldsorgen geplagt entscheidet sich Arch zur Kriegsberichterstattung nach Europa zu gehen. Gina, die sich vor Verehrern nicht retten kann, bricht das Herz und heiratet den reichen Unterhaltungsmagnaten Powell. Als dieser stirbt, erbt Gina seinen Besitz, inklusive ein dahin siechendes Herrenmagazin, das sie durch eine erfolgreiche Veränderung der Berichte und Grafiken zum Erfolg wird.

Ein Magazin fürs zarte Männergemüt weiterlesen

Trockenreinigung im Regen

Der Einzelgänger François arbeitet für einen Wäschereinigungsdienst als Botenfahrer und führt ein sehr unaufgeregtes und routiniertes Leben. Sein glücklichster Augenblick des Tages ist der Besuch bei der alleinerziehenden Maryvonne, die einen Zeitungsstand betreibt und bei der François seinen Lottoschein abgibt und die Zeitung kauft.

Seit 17 Jahren spielt er dieselben Lottonummern und verspricht Maryvonne und ihrer an Asthma erkrankten Tochter von seinem Lottogewinn, auf den er jedes Woche aufs Neue hofft, eine Wohnung am Meer zu kaufen. Seine Routine ändert sich, als er einen neuen Fahrer namens Alain einschulen soll, der ihm einige Nerven kostet. Als sie dann noch eine Lieferung an einen außerhalb Paris gelegenen Ort machen müssen, kippt François ganzes Leben mit einem Schlag.

Trockenreinigung im Regen weiterlesen

2021: Mein Jahr in Büchern

Schon letztes Jahr stellte ich ein paar Bücher vor, die ich während des ersten Pandemiejahres 2020 gelesen habe, und 2021 konnte ich eins drauflegen. Die Pandemie ist immer noch da, neue Varianten kommen und dominieren, und das lässt Zeit zum Lesen.

So habe ich dieses Jahr 87 Sachbücher, 109 (zumeist französische) Comics, ein paar Bildbände, Kinderbücher und jede Menge Magazine gelesen. Auch habe ich auf ebay etwa hundert alte Micky Maus-Hefte erwarben, die ich zur Hälfte durch habe.

Die (fast) gesamte Liste der Comics und Bücher habe ich auf Librarything stehen, wo ich seit Jahren diese Inhalte pflege.

2021: Mein Jahr in Büchern weiterlesen

Der Mann, der Comics liebt

Wie ein durchgeknallter Comic, unsere Französischlehrerin und ein Zufallsfund meine Comicsammelleidenschaft neu erweckten.

Im Wiener Bezirk Floridsdorf, auf der östlichen Seite der Donau, befand sich in der Nähe unserer damaligen Wohnung ein sogenannter Gemeindebau, eine von der Stadt Wien in den 1920er Jahren errichtete und betriebene Wohnausanlage, die über Geschäfte, Kindergärten, Arztpraxen und einen Bauernmarkt verfügte. Solche Gemeindebauten wie der Schlingerhof waren kleine Dörfer in der Stadt und als Kind waren das unsere Orte, wo wir Erfahrungen sammelten und unsere ganze Welt lag.

In den Arkaden dieses Gemeindebaus befanden sich Geschäftslokale, unter anderen ein Romantauschgeschäft. Dieses existiert schon lange nicht mehr, aber hier ist ein Foto von Google Maps, wie es dort aktuell aussieht.

Der Schlingerhof im 21. Bezirk in Wien, mit Geschäftslokalen in den Arkaden, in denen sich Ende der 1970er Jahre ein Romantauschgeschäft befand, das ich einmal wöchentlich aufsuchen durfte.

In einer der Arkaden befand sich ein Romantauschgeschäft, und in dem konnte ich, damals noch Volksschüler, 10 alte gebrauchte Comicheftchen gegen 10 neue gebrauchte Comicheftchen umtauschen. Für 10 Schilling, das damals etwa 1,5 D-Mark waren, und nach dem Umrechnungskurs 71 Cent entsprechen, was inflationsbereinigt heute ca. €1,90 wären.

Der Mann, der Comics liebt weiterlesen

Bezaubernde Djinn – Ein (erotischer) Ausflug in die Welt der Sultane, Göttinnen und Maharadschas

Wer mit der Fernsehserie Bezaubernde Jeannie aufgewachsen ist, ist bereits mit der Welt der Flaschengeister vertraut. In dieser Serie aus den 1960er Jahren fand der von Larry Hagman gespielte Astronaut Tony Nelson an einem Strand eine Flasche, in der sich der von Barbara Eden gespielte Flaschengeist („Dschinn“) Jeannie verbarg. Ihre Zauberkräfte (und Eifersucht) brachten Tony Nelson immer wieder in Bedrängnis.

Knapp sechzig Jahre später schufen der französische Szenarist Jean Dufaux und die spanische Zeichnerin Ana Miralles die Comic-Serie Djinn, von der 13 Bände erschienen sind. Hatte schon die Bezaubernde Jeannie einen definitiv erotischen Unterton in der Beziehung zwischen Nelson und Jeannie, so wird es viel expliziter in dieser Comicserie. Und auch der Nachnamen der Protagonisten zeigen eine Referenz zur Fernsehserie.

In den Alben, deren Geschichten in drei Zyklen in der Türkei, Afrika und Indien stattfinden, gibt es zwei zusammenhängende Erzählstränge. Kim Nelson, die im heutigen London aufgewachsen ist, macht sich auf die Suche nach der Geschichte ihrer Mutter und Großmutter Jade, die ein Dschinn gewesen sein soll. Ihre Magie als Dschinn bestand darin, dass sie Frauen und Männer dazu bringen konnte, sich hoffnungslos in sie zu verlieben und für sie alles aufzugeben, ja selbst in den Tod zu gehen. Für eine Dschinn bedeutet das allerdings, dass sie selbst nie Liebe empfinden kann, so sehr sie es sich wünscht, und damit unweigerlich alle Beziehungen zerbrechen.

Bezaubernde Djinn – Ein (erotischer) Ausflug in die Welt der Sultane, Göttinnen und Maharadschas weiterlesen